Overview

Program

  • Main Session

  • 9.00 - 9.30 Italy
    11.30 - 12.00 Iran

    Introductory remarks

    Giuseppe Perrone (Ambassador of Italy to the Islamic Republic of Iran)
    Masoud Khansari (Chairman, Tehran Chamber of Commerce, Industries, Mines and Agriculture)

  • 9.30 - 9.45 Italy
    12.00 - 12.15 Iran

    Current Status and Future Perspectives of Iran-Italy Bilateral Trade

    Augusto Di Giacinto (Head of Italian Trade Agency, ITA)

  • 9.45 - 10.15 Italy
    12.15 - 12.45 Iran

    Betting on Small Businesses to Develop the Economy: the Ongoing Support of Europe

    Francesco Geoffroy (Project Design Taskforce, Division of Country Programme, International Trade Center, CH)

  • The Sanctions Helpdesk for SMEs: a new EU initiative in support of legitimate business with Iran

    Mihai Keller (Legal Officer, DG FISMA, European Commission)

    Available to take questions:

    Gabriel Orazi (Policy Officer, DG FISMA, European Commission)
    Marco Zinzani (Lawyer, Studio Legale Padovan)
    Ellen Pedersen (Service for Foreign Policy Instruments, European Commission)

  • 10.15 - 11.00 Italy
    12.45 - 13.30 Iran

    Reshaping Business Cooperation Models in the New Economic Context

    Esfandyar Batmanghelidj (Founder and Publisher, Bourse & Bazar, UK)
    Maurizio Bignotti (Export Manager, Farmaceutici Dott. Ciccarelli)

  • Supporting knowledge-based enterprises of the two countries

    Afshin Kolahi (Chairman of Iran Confederation of Knowledge-based Associations)

  • Q&A discussion

  • 11.30 - 15.00 Italy
    14.00 - 17.30 Iran

    Business Networking

 

ECONOMIC RELATIONS BETWEEN ITALY AND IRAN IN THE CURRENT CONTEXT:
NON-OIL SECTORS, SMES’ ROLE, EU SUPPORT

 

Format: Round Table with Business Networking
Date: Wednesday July 22, 2020
Time (Italy): 09.00
Time (Iran): 11.30
Place: virtual event

Register for free
Participants from Italy and other Countries (click here)
Participants from Iran (click here)

Countries from all over the world are dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic at different stages, in the attempt of protecting their population while minimizing economic impacts. Many of them have left behind the peak of the emergency and they are now putting their best efforts to bring back economies, international relations and societies to normality. Or to a new normality.

Iran, on its part, has also been coping with the unilateral withdrawal of the US administration from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) and the decision of re-imposing primary and secondary sanctions on Iranians entities and individuals. As a reaction, Iran has been working to strengthen local industries so to reduce dependence from abroad. This has deeply impacted on the way the Country relates with international players

Italy boasts a long and privileged relation with Iran, marked by friendly relations and intense trade that are now exposed to the risk of secondary sanctions. Europe has been working to support the JCPOA and the relations between EU members and Iran. On top of the blocking statues and INSTEX, the European Commission deployed programs to aid Iranian enterprises and European companies interested in doing business with the Islamic Republic.

In the midst of the global attempt to recover from the COVID pandemic and two years after the US withdrawal from the JCPOA, the initiative aims at taking stock of the situation through a high-level Round Table that will gather representatives from institutions and enterprises of the two countries, followed by a Business Networking session meant to promote interactions among participants.

The event will be entirely held on Ambrosetti digital platform, an online tool designed to both live stream the contents of the Round Table and to effectively allow participants to interact with each other, including the possibility of scheduling individual meetings and holding 1 to 1 private video conferences.

 

EVENT DETAILS

Round Table session

Time (Italy): from 09.00 to 11.00
Time (Iran): from 11.30 to 13.30
Format: live stream

Program:

  • Introductory remarks
  • Current status and future perspectives of Iran-Italy bilateral trade
  • Operating in Iran with US Sanctions: reshaping business cooperation models in the new economic context
  • Betting on small businesses to develop the economy: Iranian SMEs and the ongoing support of Europe

Business Networking Session

Time (Italy): from 11.30 to 15.00
Time (Iran): from 14.00 to 17.30
Format: 30 min 1to1 video conferences

Program:

  • Participants will be free to given the chance to navigate other attendees’ profiles, download relevant information, request meetings and hold video conferences in dedicated virtual rooms.

Register for free
Participants from Italy and other Countries (click here)
Participants from Iran (click here)

 

Speakers

Partners